Sunday, September 30, 2007

Schengen Visa

What is Schengen Visa?

If you plan to travel to Europeen countries that implement Schengen agreement, a Schengen Visa simplifies your travel between those countries.

With Schengen Visa you can travel between Schengen coutries like travelling inter-state in USA. So all internal air, road and train travel are handled as domestic trips between those countries.

What is Schengen?

If you are curious about what Schengen is, Schengen is a wine-growing village in south-eastern Luxembourg near the point where the borders of Germany, France and Luxembourg meet together.

Which Countries Can I Travel With Schengen Visa?

At present, there are 15 Schengen countries in Europe. The 15 Schengen countries are;
  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Denmark
  4. Finland
  5. France
  6. Germany
  7. Iceland
  8. Italy
  9. Greece
  10. Luxembourg
  11. Netherlands
  12. Norway
  13. Portugal
  14. Spain and
  15. Sweden.

All these countries except Norway and Iceland are European Union members.

Whate are the Benefits Of Schengen Visa?

Before Schengen people from some countries were required to have separate visas for every country in Europe they wished to visit. A vast network of border posts existed around the continent which disrupted traffic and trade, causing delays and costs to both businesses and visitors.

With the Schengen Agreement, border posts have been closed between participating countries. Road traffic is no longer delayed; road, rail and air passengers no longer have their identity checked when crossing borders.

How to Apply for Schengen Visa?

People from Non-EU(European Union), Non-EEA(European Economic Area) countries who wish to visit Europe as tourists, and who require a visa to enter the Schengen area, are simply required to get a common Schengen Visa from the Embassy/Consulate of the Schengen country they intend to visit first.

After this, they may visit any or all of the Schengen countries as tourists or for business without hindrance. They are not required to get separate visas for all the (Schengen) European countries they wish to visit.

Important Information.

Eventhough you can travel with one visa between Schengen countries, it is always safe to carry your passport and any other identification with you.

Some countries like Sweden and Finland still maintain customs control at their borders. Non-EU members Norway and Iceland are not a part of the EU customs union and therefore enforce the same level of custom control towards any traveller regardless of whether they come from within the Schengen area or not.

Schengen Visa

No comments: